Ohio.gov  |   State Agencies   |   Online Services

30 East Broad Street, Fifth Floor, Columbus OH, 43215 | 614-466-2785 | 1-888-278-7101


On behalf of our Commissioners and staff, I welcome you to the Ohio Civil Rights Commission's website. Our informational video will help you understand the services offered by the OCRC.

I invite you to contact us if we can be of assistance to you. 

G. Michael Payton, Executive Director 


2016 Civil Rights Hall of Fame  - DEADLINE EXTENDED -  Nominations for the 2016 Civil Rights Hall of Fame induction class will be accepted through July 8, 2016. For information about how to make a nomination for the Ohio Civil Rights Hall of Fame, please see this year's nomination form.


Photo of Ronnell Tomlinson and others

May 19, 2016 - OCRC Cohosts Cincinnati Fair Housing Training

‚ÄčOn May 18, OCRC Director of Housing and Alternative Dispute Resolution, Ronnell Tomlinson, worked with the Cincinnati Metropolitan Housing Authority and the Fair Housing Accessibility FIRST program to present a free training on the Fair Housing Act on May 18, 2016 in Cincinnati. The training focused on the accessibility requirements of the Fair Housing Act, disability rights laws, and making housing accessible through accommodations and modifications. More than 170 architects, developers and property owners attended the event.




May 3, 2016 - Ohio Civil Rights Commission Welcomes Commissioner Juan P. Cespedes

On April 28, members of the Ohio Civil Rights Commission and OCRC staff celebrated the swearing in of new Commissioner Juan P. Cespedes. Commissioner Cespedes brings great experience working with other state agencies, boards and committees. The Honorable Judge James E. Green presided over the ceremony. For more about Commissioner Cespedes and OCRC's other Commissioners, visit our Commissioners page.  


Photo of Akron Bar Association Spring Carnival

May 3, 2016 - OCRC Celebrates Diversity with the Akron Bar

OCRC Reconsideration Supervisor and Co-Chair of the Akron Bar Association's Diversity Committee Bradley S. Dunn helped plan the Association's Spring Carnival, with a focus on diversity and inclusion. The carnival was circus themed and included a magician and balloon artist. OCRC was proud to send our Diversity Bear to celebrate diversity and to help educate the Akron community about civil rights and the work of the Ohio Civil Rights Commission.



For more Ohio Civil Rights Commission news, click here for our Announcements Archives page 

PDF Flyer for May 18, 2016 Fair Housing Training Event