Questions about COVID-19?
Visit or call 1-833-4-ASK-ODH for answers.



 photograph of Ohio Statehouse 

The Ohio Civil Rights Commission has five Commissioners appointed by the Governor with the advice and consent of the Senate. Commissioners are appointed to five-year, staggered terms. By law no more than three Commissioners can be of the same political party. The Governor designates one of the Commissioners to serve as Chairperson. The five-member Commission meets regularly to discuss civil rights policy and rule on recommendations from the OCRC’s five regional offices regarding charges and investigations of discrimination.


Chair Lori Barreras

Chair Barreras was appointed Commissioner on October 31, 2013 and was appointed Chair in March 2018 by Governor John Kasich. She was reappointed by Governor Kasich on July 29, 2018 for another five-year term that will expire July 28, 2023. 

Chair Barreras served as the Assistant Vice President of Human Resources at the Ohio State University. She is the former Vice President and Director of Human Resources at Battelle Memorial Institute, Oak Ridge National Laboratory and Pacific Northwest National Laboratory, Supervisory Investigator at the U.S. Equal Employment Opportunity Commission and Tax Auditor for the Internal Revenue Service. She received a Bachelor of Science in Business Operations Management from Arizona State University.

Chair Barreras serves as a Vice Chair of the Board of Directors for the Greater Columbus Arts Council and is a member of the Ohio Collaborative Community-Police Advisory Board and the Columbus Women’s Commission’s Pay Equity Committee.  She lives in Columbus, Ohio.

Commissioner William Patmon III

Commissioner Patmon was appointed to the Commission by Governor John Kasich in August 2012 and reappointed in 2017 to a term that will expire in 2022.

Commissioner Patmon is the founder and CEO of The Patmon Law Firm located in Columbus and Cleveland, Ohio.  His legal experience ranges from corporate takeover and energy litigation to business matters.  He is a graduate of Leadership Columbus, recipient of Business First Newspaper's 40 Under Forty award and a former board member of Neighborhood House, Inc. and SAVE, an anti-violence program in Ohio.

Commissioner Patmon received a Juris Doctorate from Ohio State University College of Law and received the Best Oral Advocate and Best Moot Court team awards. He is a former federal judicial law clerk to U.S. District Judge James L. Graham, former delegate to the federal Sixth Circuit Judicial Conference and a former member of the Committee to Evaluate and Reappoint U.S. Magistrate Judges.


Commissioner Madhu K. Singh

Commissioner Singh was appointed Commissioner on June 12, 2015 by Governor John Kasich and reappointed by Governor Mike DeWine in 2019 to a term that will expire on July 28, 2024. 

Commissioner Singh received a Bachelor of Arts degree from Rajasthan University in Jaipur, India where she also completed graduate level courses in English Literature.

Commissioner Singh has worked with the Ohio Secretary of State acting as the liaison with the Office of Boards of Elections,Chambers of Commerce and the community.  She was also instrumental in developing a strategy to provide a communication link between private, public and administrative leaders.

Commissioner Singh has extensive entrepreneurial and leadership skills in both the private and public sectors.  She is a resident of Akron, Ohio and has served on several boards including Coming Together Akron, Akron International Friendship, American Cancer Society, Asian Indian Community of Northeastern Ohio and the Private Industry Council of Youngstown.

Commissioner Julia "Rita" McNeil Danish

Commissioner Julia "Rita" McNeil Danish was appointed to the Ohio Civil Rights Commission on March 19, 2021, by Governor Mike DeWine for a five-year term that will expire July 25, 2025. 

Commissioner Danish is a Partner at Taft, Stettinius, and Hollister law firm, where she also serves as the Diversity Equity & Inclusion Strategic Business Partner. She is also the Founder and CEO of JD2 Strategists, LLC, a consulting company.  Commissioner Danish has extensive legal experience and previously served in several distinguished positions, such as Judge and Magistrate of the Franklin County Court of Common Pleas, Domestic and Juvenile Divisions, and as Section Chief of the Ohio Attorney General’s Office Civil Rights Section. She received her Bachelor of Business Administration in Marketing from Howard University and her Juris Doctorate Degree from The Ohio State University.

Commissioner Danish has served on many boards, including the Boards of Directors for the National Underground Railroad Freedom Center, the Ohio Chamber of Commerce, the National Civic League, and the National Board for Women for Economic Leadership and Development (WELD). She lives in Gahanna, Ohio.


Commissioner Charlie Winburn

Commissioner Charles "Charlie" Winburn was appointed to the commission by Governor Mike DeWine for a term beginning September 6, 2021 and expiring July 28, 2026. He previously served as Commissioner for the Ohio Civil Rights Commission from 2001-2006. 

Commissioner Winburn has a long history of service at all levels of government, from serving as a Special Assistant in the U.S. House of Representatives and Deputy Director of Personnel at the Ohio Department of Administrative Services to elected positions as Hamilton County Treasurer and City Councilmember for the City of Cincinnati. 

Commissioner Winburn received Bachelor of Science and Master of Education degrees from the University of Cincinnati. He has pursued many other professional programs and certificates, including the Certified Law of Attraction Facilitator training. He is also holds certifications as a SELLLC Management Trainer, Level II Training Curriculum; a Talent Smart Facilitator to Discovering Emotional Intelligence, Level I and Level II Curriciulm; and a Herrman HBDI Practitioner, through Herrman International.